Bug Lab

EXHIBITION

Until

Where

Touring Hall
Melbourne Museum
11 Nicholson Street
Carlton, Victoria, 3053
What's On

Little Bugs, Super Powers

Behold the marvels of the invertebrate world as giant bugs take over Melbourne Museum!

Inspired by the secret life of bugs and their genius ways, Bug Lab: Little Bugs, Super Powers immerses audiences of all ages in a journey to zoom in on the world beneath your feet!

Come face-to-face with large-scale critters and hear stories from six unique insects! Meet a Bombardier Beetle; visit the bug labs and see living bug specimens from Museums Victoria's own collection.  Dig deep into cutting-edge science to uncover the adaptive genius of bugs and discover how humans are using bugs as inspiration for new technologies.

Don’t miss this fascinating journey into the world of insects. The Australian premiere event debuts in Melbourne on 23 June 2017, and the exhibition runs for a limited time only. Book your tickets today, and see what all the buzz is about!

Your own little bugs will be buzzing with provided pre-school friendly activity tables and a beetle slide with coloured lights and sound effects!

Not done with little critters? See Bugs: Mighty Micro Monsters 3D in IMAX for $10. In this 3D giant screen adventure, you’ll shrink down and step into the hidden world of super-powered bugs! Buy online with your Bug Lab: Little Bugs, Super Powers tickets. Or present your Bug Lab: Little Bugs, Super Powers ticket at IMAX.

Make a day of it by visiting Melbourne Museum’s Bugs Alive! to see, hear and smell the world of insects, spiders, snails and other invertebrates!

Bug Lab: Little Bugs, Super Powers is a creative collaboration between Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa in Wellington, New Zealand, and five time Academy Award-winning studio, Weta Workshop.

For bookings and enquiries please contact 13 11 02 or [email protected]

Autism Friendly Melbourne Museum

Bug Lab: Little Bugs, Super Powers will have very large insect sculptures, multimedia including an overarching soundscape which is quite loud, and strobe lighting as part of the exhibition experience. It will be very busy during peak times such as school holidays and weekends.

The museum has not scheduled low sensory exhibition times, however a limited number of ear muffs and torches will be available for loan for children on the Autism Spectrum. We suggest that if you or your family member is sensitive to sound or light, to bring your own for comfort and assurance of availability.

If you wish to visit when it is less crowded, between 2pm and 4pm Monday to Thursday in non-school holiday times might be best. The last entry to the exhibition is at 4pm.

Should you decide to visit Melbourne Museum, there are online resources for families with children on the spectrum which are available here. The social scripts and the sensory map however do not include Bug Lab: Little Bugs, Super Power.

For any questions regarding Autism Friendly Melbourne Museum please contact Adrienne Leith at [email protected] or [email protected].

Availability

Dates

  • Su
  • Mo
  • Tu
  • We
  • Th
  • Fr
  • Sa

Session time/s

    • Sunday, 24 September, 2017

    • Monday, 25 September, 2017

    • Tuesday, 26 September, 2017

    • Wednesday, 27 September, 2017

    • Thursday, 28 September, 2017

    • Friday, 29 September, 2017

    • Saturday, 30 September, 2017

    • Sunday, 01 October, 2017

    • Monday, 02 October, 2017

    • Tuesday, 03 October, 2017

    • Wednesday, 04 October, 2017

    • Thursday, 05 October, 2017

    • Friday, 06 October, 2017

    • Saturday, 07 October, 2017

    • Sunday, 08 October, 2017

    • Monday, 09 October, 2017

    • Tuesday, 10 October, 2017

    • Wednesday, 11 October, 2017

    • Thursday, 12 October, 2017

    • Friday, 13 October, 2017

    • Saturday, 14 October, 2017

    • Sunday, 15 October, 2017

    Loading