Top Designs 2018 Forums and Talks

MUSEUM STAFF-LED

Year VCE
Terms 1-2
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday & Friday
See schedule below for details

The Arts

School programs and resources

Top Design Forums

Top Designs Forums support VCE students of Visual Communication Design, Product Design & Technology, Systems Engineering, VET Creative & Digital Media, Theatre Studies and Media.

They consist of an introductory talk from a representative of the VCAA, using examples from Top Designs exhibited works, folios and design plans. 

This is followed by a presentation by an industry professional, who represents best practice within their particular field of design. In some instances, there will also be a previous or current Top Designs Exhibitor speaking. The Forum allows time for Q&A. Students are encouraged to prepare questions for the speakers.

Industry speakers will appear below as they are confirmed: 
 

Product Design & Technology

Focus on textiles and fashion
Wednesday 21 March, 9.45am & 11.45am
Thursday 26 April, 9.45am & 11.45am
Friday 11 May, 9.45am & 11.45am

Focus on resistant materials, products, and furniture
Tuesday 27 March, 9.45am & 11.45am
Monday 7 May, 9.45am & 11.45am
Thursday 17 May, 9.45am & 11.45am
 

Visual Communication Design

Monday 19 March, 9.45am, 11.45am & 1.45pm
Tuesday 20 March, 9.45am & 11.45am
Monday 26 March, 9.45am, 11.45am &  1.45pm
Wednesday 28 March, 9.45am, 11.45am &  1.45pm
Thursday 29 March, 9.45am, 11.45am &  1.45pm
Monday 16 April, 9.45am, 11.45am &  1.45pm
Thursday 19 April, 9.45am, 11.45am &  1.45pm
Friday 20 April, 9.45am, 11.45am & 1.45pm
Monday 23 April, 9.45am, 11.45am &  1.45pm
Wednesday 2 May, 9.45am, 11.45am & 1.45pm
Thursday 3 May, 9.45am, 11.45am &  1.45pm
Friday 4 May, 9.45am, 11.45am &  1.45pm
Wednesday 9 May, 9.45am & 11.45am
Thursday 10 May, 9.45am & 11.45am
Monday 14 May, 9.45am & 11.45am
 

Theatre Studies

Tuesday 20 March, 1.45pm
Thursday 26 April, 1.45pm
 

Media

Focus on film
Monday 30 April, 9.45am & 11.45am 

Focus on photography
Wednesday 16 May, 9.45am & 11.45am

Focus on print
Wednesday 16 May, 1.45pm
 

System Engineering

Wednesday 18 April, 9.45am & 11.45am 
 

VCE VET Creative Digital Media

Friday 27 April, 9.45am
 

Top Design Talks

Top Designs Talks support VCE students of Visual Communication Design and Product Design & Technology.

They consist of an introductory talk from a representative of the VCAA only, addressing the School-Assessed Task using examples from Top Designs exhibited works, folios and design plans.
 

Sessions

Visual Communication Design: Friday 18 May at 10.30am and 11.30am

Product Design & Technology: Friday 18 May at 1.30pm
 

Exhibition visit

Students visit the Top Designs exhibition for an hour and are also invited to visit the You Can’t Do That exhibition for half an hour.

Allow up to 3 hours. Includes 30 minute Talk and 1 hour exhibition viewing time.
 

Resources

Student worksheets for use during the Top Designs exhibition will also be available online in early 2018.