NATIONAL MUSEUM OF VICTORIA SITES IN THE MURRAY RIVER REGION BETWEEN MILDURA AND RENMARK, AUSTRALIA

The allocation of site numbers for so vast an area, and to suit the requirements of authors in a number of disciplines, has proved to be extremely difficult. The solution is essentially pragmatic. Where a name already available (such as Merbein Cliffs) can be satisfactorily used, no site number has been allocated. The site numbers refer to complicated areas where there are many localities close together. For example, at Salt Creek on Kulcurna Station, there are section lines, gulches, and fossil localities, with additional archaeological and geological sites on the higher ground beyond the cliffs.

The original site numbers (in brackets below) were allocated in the field in no specific geographic order, or for a standard area, and so had to be rationalised. Either a number has to be given to every little locality, or to general areas wherein specific loci can be indicated as suits the purposes of each author. The latter procedure is judged to communicate better. A hundred locality numbers cannot be carried in the mind, but the 19 listed are practicable.

Copies of this page of site numbers will be attached to all reprints, and placed with the specimen collections in the Museum, so that cross-reference between previously allocated field numbers and the new *Memoir* numbers is simple. The utilization of existing names where possible has greatly reduced the list of site numbers. The latter pass from W. to E. on the N. side of the Murray River, and then from E. to W. on the S. side.

SOUTH AUSTRALIA

1. Proposed Chowilla Dam area (original field numbers 48-49).

NEW SOUTH WALES

2. Kulcurna Station: Salt Creek and Scrub Paddock area (56).

- 3. Kulcurna Homestead, Murray River cliffs alongside, Cal Lal (55).
- 4. Nampoo Station, E. of Cal Lal (33).
- 5. Warrakoo Station, Murray River cliffs E. of Cal Lal, and SW. to W. side of Lake Victoria (72).
- 6. Noola Station W. to NW. side of Lake Victoria (37, 68-71).
- 7. Nulla Station from boundary with Noola Stn. through Old Hotel site to Lone Gum (52).
- 8. Nulla Station on E. side of Lake Victoria from Lone Gum to Talgarry fence, including Oak Hill Paddock (50,65-66).
- 9. Talgarry Station, E. side of Lake Victoria (28, 51, 57, 63, 67).
- 10. Dunedin Park Station, SE. side Lake Victoria, extending to Frenchman's Creek (30, 73).
- 11. Moorna Station area including homestead, windmill, and cliffs to N. and NE. (38, 43).
- 12. Moorna Station: area including Triple Swamp, Bone Gulch, and Triple Swamp Gulch (45-46).
- 13. Moorna Station: area including Fisherman's Cliff and Moorna E. oxbow (39-40).
- 14. Neilpo Station, including Six Mile Creek cliffs (47).

VICTORIA

- 15. Boy Creek arca.
- 16. Keera Station: Lybra Paddock (formerly Lybra Station) (5-12, 27, 34).
- 17. Keera Station: Brown's Paddock (1-4, 12, 35).
- Ned's Corner Station, including Lake Wallawalla.
- 19. Berribee Station, near S.A. border (15, 19-20, 53-54).

—E. D. Gill